INEC declares results in 14 states

…APC wins 6 states, PDP 5, LP 3

From Romanus Ugwu, Abuja

All Progressives Congress (APC) has won six out of 14 states in the last Saturday’s presidential election declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the National Collation Centre Abuja.

APC won in states like Ekiti, Ondo, Ogun, Oyo, Kwara and Jigawa, scoring 201,494 votes, 369,924 votes, 341,554 votes, 449,884 votes, 263,572 votes, and 421,390 votes respectively to relegate the duo of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Labour Party (LP) to the second and third positions.

The leading opposition party, the PDP, won five states out of the declared results, clearing Osun, Yobe, Gombe, Adamawa and President Muhammadu Buhari’s states, Katsina.

While PDP scored 354, 366 to win Osun, 198, 567 in Yobe, 319,123 votes in Gombe, 417611 votes in Adamawa, he scored 489,045 votes in Katsina States.

Labour Party however trailed with victory in three States of Lagos, Enugu and Nasarawa, scoring 582,454 votes 428,640 votes and 191,361 votes respectively.

In all the state results announced the issue of over voting, violence, and malfunctioning Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) among others accounted for the greater number of canceled votes.

The collation and announcement, according to the chairman of the commission, Mahmood Yakubu, will however continue on Tuesday morning in the absence of any other state ready to present more results.

The post INEC declares results in 14 states appeared first on The Sun Nigeria.

Source link