OFFICIAL: The 2022 Best FIFA POTY confirmed!

The Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year has now been confirmed!

The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year has now been confirmed!

The winner of The Best FIFA Men’s Player award for 2022 has now officially been revealed!

The award winner, who was announced at a ceremony in Paris tonight, was decided by four groups: national team coaches, captains of all national teams, media representatives, and fan votes, with each grouping getting a 25% weighting for the final vote.

Read: Ronaldo: Real reason I’m scoring hat-tricks at Al Nassr

While Robert Lewandowski won the famous prize for the 2021 calendar year, he was not among the three finalists this time around, namely: Lionel Messi, Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappe.

It has now been confirmed that Paris Saint-Germain superstar Messi has beaten his teammate Mbappe and Benzema to the prestigious award for 2022. 

The 35-year-old was a key figure in Argentina’s 2022 FIFA World Cup-winning team, becoming the first player to score in every round of the tournament, and making 10 goal contributions en route to lifting the Jules Rimet trophy, while he also went on to win the Ligue 1 title with PSG last season.

This is the second time the former FC Barcelona captain has won the prize, having scooped it up in 2019 too.

Other major award winners on the night include Alexia Putella of FC Barcelona who was named The Best FIFA Women’s player of the year, and Sarina Wiegman of England, who was handed the trophy for the best coach.

Other Award Winners

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona & Spain)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year: Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year:  Sarina Wiegman (England)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper of the Year: Emiliano Martinez (Argentina & Aston Villa)

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year: Mary Earps (England & Manchester United)

Puskas Award: Marcin Olesky

FIFA Fair Play Award: Luka Lochoshvili

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments. 

Click here to register! 

Source link